Vignola Plays Gershwin

Frank Vignola

Guitarist Frank Vignola can play nearly any style, from sounding like Django Reinhardt to fusion. On this set of 14 familiar Gershwin songs, Vignola plays swing without copying Reinhardt, creating fresh ideas within the vintage genre in his own style. Accompanied by Corey Christiansen (who sticks to playing rhythm guitar), bassist Tom Kennedy and his frequent musical partner drummer Joe Ascione, Vignola mostly performs straightforward solos, with the exception of a humorous rendition of the closer “But Not for Me.” The music is quite accessible, witty in spots, and always swings. The overall results are rewarding and easily recommended to fans of the swing guitar.

Track List
1. I Got Rhythm
2. Summertime
3. S’Wonderful
4. Our Love Is Here To Stay
5. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
6. The Man I Love
7. Somebody Loves Me
8. Strike Up the Band
9. Nice Work If You Can Get It
10. Facinating Rhythm
11. Embraceable You
12. Lady Be Good
13. How Long Has This Been Going On
14. But Not For Me

  1. Joseph, Joseph Frank Vignola 4:23
  2. Tico Tico Frank Vignola 4:36
  3. Sleepytime Gal Frank Vignola 3:56